PDA

View Full Version : Need driveline help, lots of questions

cadunkle
04-18-2011, 08:49 PM
Boat is an '89 Saltare with 454. This is my first inboard, so I'm still learning so far as the driveline goes, so bear with me if my questions sound silly and the length of this post.

Last season when adjusting my driveshaft packing I noticed a slight wobble in the shaft. Would alignment cause the wobble or would have to be a bent shaft or worn strut bushing? I would think if alignment was off the shaft would not wobble, but rather be still but just not centered.

So now that I have the boat back form upholstery and got it dewinterized and running this weekend I pulled my shaft. Good news is no wear or ridges that I can tell. I will take this to a local machine shop I use for machine work on engine builds and have it checked for straight and runout. I don't have anything striaght that's long enough, or a good flat surface big enough to even try to eyeball it. The coupler looks straight across the surface but should I bring this in as well and have it surfaced?

Also, although the coupler was difficult to remove from the shaft, the nut came loose with almost no effort and actually had a snap ring in the thread behind it. This was presumably to keep it from backing off, but the shaft is not made with a groove for a snap ring on the coupler end... Nor does it have a hole that you would use a castle nut and cotter pin with. The nut that was on it was not a nylock or a standard metal lock nut, but just a regular nut with no locking mechanism. Is this the way they are normally installed? Should I use some sort of locking nut on it when reinstalling?