PDA

View Full Version : O'Brian wakesurf board

Big blue
05-17-2011, 10:56 AM
Can anyone tell me how well the O'Brain wakesurfer surfboard. I am just starting out and need some insite. My boat is a 2004 22ssv gg , how should I set up the boat?

KG's Supra24
05-17-2011, 04:10 PM
Don't have a clue on the O'brien. Do you already own it or are you looking to by a beginner board?

As far as set up, decide if you will be surfing regular or goofy (which side of the boat you want to be on). This is likely the same way you wakeboard. Typically you surf with your front facing the wave. For instance, i wakeboard left foot forward so i surf the passenger side of the boat.

Put all the weight you can in the rear corner. To get the weight right you will likely need more than stock ballast. Your boat would probably like to see between 700-1200 lbs on the rear surf side, depending on how big of a wave you want. The closer you approach 1200 you will need some bow weight and possibly weight on the opposite side. That is just a quick start. Let us know what you have to work with weight wise.

Big blue
05-17-2011, 08:00 PM
I am not sure about lbs, but the boat:o has two bags in the back and one in the front. The boat has what came with the gravity games model. I board right foot forward. The board I am looking at is foam covered with some type of soft vinyl.

cmtaylor777
05-18-2011, 05:40 PM
Big Blue,

Concentrate on 2 things. Weight and board. Go ahead and get a good board because you will outgrow a beginners board pretty quick. Plus, a high quality wakesurf board is easier to start on than a "beginners board".

Get as much weight as you can. Set up everything like KG said and you should be good. 1100lb in the rear on surf side and your stock front sack along with a 400lb in the playpen will probably work out perfect for you.

CarZin
05-20-2011, 11:52 AM
Let me give you some advice, as I am a beginner, and just had to tackle all of this...