PDA

View Full Version : Fantasy Diesel v drive Saltere or Pirata build

SuperSaltAir
06-15-2011, 02:05 AM
So this has been in my head for quite a while and I wanted to start a thread that we can throw around ideas about building a diesel boat. Please feel free to chime in as this is something new to me and I have limited knowledge about diesel engines. Any diesel techs on this forum?

This is what I am thinking as far as a start point on the fantasy build

Saltere or Pirata I am also looking for a totally wrecked pirata for less than 1k

1:1 walter v drive

I have no clue on a trany please chime in

Engine Im thinking something out of a wrecked truck I have been thinking that v8 chevy or 6cyl isuzu would be the best. I think fords are a bit on the heavy side and the cumins out of the dodge would be hard to mate with the trany. What do you guys think?

The idea for this is to cost less than 10k total and to run all day at 25mph or less with 1k of ballast on lets say less than 10 gal of fuel do you think its possible?

wotan2525
06-15-2011, 10:59 AM
It's a cool idea but it's going to be hard to find things like exhaust risers and a transmission adapter.

I am somewhat surprised that we haven't seen anyone do a v-drive conversion of one of the old boats. I don't think it would be all that much more work than the hull-up rebuilds that so many of us have done.

Okie Boarder
06-15-2011, 01:06 PM
Interesting concept...I'd like to see if it is feasible.

wotan, go check out www.correctcraftfan.com There's a guy from S. OK that did an old ski nautique (2001 style hull) as a v-drive. Pretty slick, but a lot of work.

dusty2221
06-15-2011, 01:11 PM
On the master craft forum there is a diesel build, he documented the entire thing.

chrisk
06-15-2011, 01:44 PM
Okie, could you post a link to the thread? I'm having troubles finding it

chrisk
06-15-2011, 01:52 PM