PDA

View Full Version : boat automatically slowing down?

jsmilez
06-20-2011, 11:53 AM
hey guys,
I just bought a 2000 supra launch direct drive. Its been running great but every now and then if I run it for a while it all of suddon throws itself into the iddling speed. I figured it was a problem of over heating and it has a sensor that would shut itself off if it was running hot. Checked the impellar and and water pump looked good and water was pumping fine to the thermostat housing (also put a new thermostat in last week). I also was noticing my engine is steming out of the exhuast and then looked and saw a slight leak behind the main pulley on the front of the engine.The person that owned it before me put in alot of extras and there is a bad ground/and or voltage issue so when run all gauges jump to the right, but as soon as u slow down the temp gause (as well as all of the other gauges) goes right back down to 165 degrees so im confused as all get out. I am fairly new at working on these boats and trying to learn as much as possible on how to fix things myself. Any input would be greatly appriciated!

Seabeejamie
06-20-2011, 01:23 PM
OK...
1. Water behind the pulley. most likely coming out of weep hole, your boat being a 2000, it most likely needs a new water pump (recirculating pump).
http://www.skidim.com/prodinfo.asp?number=WP-2232MN
Even though it is cooling fine, the bearing may be shot allowing water to come through the seal. having just replaced the thermostat, I am assuming you already checked the housing and related hoses....