PDA

View Full Version : 87 Sunsport Wake Surf Boat Conversion Need Some Input

Sunapee Sunsport
07-21-2011, 11:38 AM
Hello fellow Sunpra Owners I am looking for some advise. I am getting into wake surfing now and would love some advice on how to best convert my 87 stock Sun Sport Skier to a wake surf boat.
I am prepared to install a fully automated system and new prop but want some input before I invest the 2-3 k I am prepared to put up tomake this possible.

new prop Acme ?

ballst placement
# of pumps
front
rear
side
alternator upgrade from 50 amp to 100 amp?
dual battery?

chrisk
07-23-2011, 05:33 AM
Sunapee, first of all good luck with the project!

I'm no expert but I'll try and answer your checklist items in order using some of my own experience, coupled with things I have picked up from reading other posts from other members' projects.

I believe the prop that people will recommend to you is the Acme #543. It is a 13x11.5 prop. I have it on my boat and it works absolutely GREAT for pushing a loaded down boat. You may want to ask around though because depending on how much weight you're going to be pushing you may even want to go with something like a 13x10.5.