Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My 88 dilemma

Default My 88 dilemma

I have an 88 pirata and I thought that this winter in would replace the interior but when I removed the interior I found some soft spots in the floor so I figured I would ask here and see if this boat is worth the effort , it sure is a great boat out on the water , it feels like driving a big couch around the lake ,lots of room
    and lots of power
    My concern is how far do I go at this point it sure looks like a lot of work and is a 23 year old boat worth the time and effort I haven't seen too many piratas on here
    If I do take on the task. Do I really need to pull the engine out or can I pull the cap off and see what's under the floor with the engine still in place ,I just rebuilt it last year and when we pulled it everything seemed dry and tight ,as far as the stringers in the engine compartment
    I will try and put some pics with this post but it's my first time posting and I've already lost everything twice
    Thanks in advance for any advice you can share with me about my boat
    88pirata
    Last edited by 88pirata; 12-02-2011 at 01:46 AM.

Default some pics of the problem

here are some qwik shots to give you and idea
    Attached Images Attached Images

That floor looks rough man, how are the stringers away from the engine? You said the engine area was solid last year when you did the rebuild on your engine right?
    '86 Comp TS6M - Reborn 2016
    Riding a HO Sports CX Ski

I haven't pulled up the floor to see, when I re mounted the engine the stringers seemed pretty tight and I've noticed that the soft spots are only in those 2 spots ,1 under the rear seat and the other where the step is .