Default Wiring rocker switch for Johnson ballast pump...

Got three Johnson 12 gpm ballast pumps for my 06 24 ssv.. Im trying to find help on wiring the reversible pumps to the existing rocker switches. Any help would be great!!! I'm a total newb when it comes to all this.. I plan on just drilling just one extra hole in the bottom of the boat and putting a tee between the rear sacs. I only fill the port side ballast and and center sac, since the only thing we do is surf behind this boat. I also plan on putting an extra line attached to one of the pumps. So i can fill the extra sacs that i have quicker as well...

If you are using it as a reversible ballast pump, you will need a dedicated 20W DPDT rocker switch for each pump. Or, a complicated relay setup is needed in order to reverse the flow of a DC motor using a SPST switch. Thats why I like the Jabsco pumps. They come with a switch with labeled actuator and pre-wired switch connector and instructions.

Last edited by Wylietunes; 03-07-2013 at 09:36 PM.
    Michael
    Mikes Liquid Audio

Thanks! Ill just go pick up some new on-off-on rocker switches, maybe that will complicate it less..

Also, make sure to use adequate gauge wire if you're direct wiring the switches, especially if you're making long runs between switch and pump. The impeller pumps have a hefty inrush current when starting and you need enough voltage at the pump for the impeller to kick over when switching flow directions.
    _______________89 Saltare Resto Project___________
    _________Then________________________Now_____

I have a roll of 12 gauge marine wire. Should I just pull in all new wire to the system? Would a inline fuse be a good idea? maybe between the batt and the fuse block under the dash.