Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Surfing behind a 21V...what the heck is wrong?

I've surfed behind many boats and I've been surfing for 7 years. I used to own a 2000 Launch (DD) and I had a pretty killer surf wake with it loaded right. I've made old boats throw big good wakes too, like old Nautiques and stuff, that we thought would never make a good wake.

So my new friend that I met while selling my boat (who I think is a member here so I'm surprised he hasn't mentioned anything yet, no idea what is user ID is though) just bought a 2006 21V about the same time I bought my Moomba LSV. I went riding with him last weekend on his boat. Great wakeboard wake as I expected, very similar feel to my old Launch.

However, THE SURF WAKE DOES NOT EXIST! Why is that? We had about 1200 up under the playpen and 750 in the rear left locker. I thought for sure that would be good, but it was terrible. We then added 650 on top of the left seats. A little bigger but still terrible! We emptied the front to maybe 400 or so because I thought maybe we weren't biased toward the back enough. Still bad. We could not get an acceptable surf wake out of the boat! I tried speeds anywhere between 9.5 and 11.5. The only thing I didn't try was the wakeplate because it wasn't working, was stuck at 50%. That's where I had mine on my old Launch anyway, so I figured no big deal.

Any thoughts? I was absolutely shocked.
    2006 Moomba Mobius LSV
    replaced 2000 Supra Launch

I'd empty the front and try with some more people/weight in the back. Weight in front = longer wave with more push, weight in back = steeper, more surfable wave with a shorter pocket.
    Former owner of a 1987 Supra Saltare. Current owner of a Malibu 23LSV.

Yup, I understand the dynamics and definitely agree with you.

That's why we emptied the front way down and added the 650 to the left seats. I even had his wife drive so he could sit on the very back corner, feet on the deck. Not really any better.