Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Holley carb tuning?

Last weekend was the 1st time out, boat ran fine but I noticed dark smoke from exhaust at slow speeds/idle and the back of the boat was all dirty from the unburned fuel. I discovered that there was no thermostat installed, ordered one and got it in. Set the mixture screws to 1-1/2 turns out and took my vacuum gauge with me on a test drive.
    New t-stat worked fine, about 150-160 and holds steady. Less soot now but I think it's still a little rich. Turned in the screws all the way, no noticeable difference? What rpm to use while adjusting for max vacuum? When I adjust screws the idle changes?

Can someone explain the idle circuit of these carbs to me? I'm a motorcycle mechanic and these big holleys are foreign to me. I want to put a smaller pilot jet in but I'm pretty sure they don't have one lol.

Boat seems to run great otherwise, maybe I should just leave it alone!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk