Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default 1986 Supra Comp ts6m

I'm new to the boat world. I am thinking about purchasing a 1986 Supra Comp Ts6m. I would be getting the boat and trailer for roughly $3500, which seams likes a great deal. The boat has a custom tower, has been reupholstered in the last 5 years, and looks really nice considering its age. My question regards the engine. An older FORD 460 motor is what is powering this inboard boat. From what i can tell, it starts right up and seems to run good, although I have not seen the boat run on water. What can I look for before purchasing the boat? I have roughly $3000-$5000 to put into this boat, and am prepared to spend that much in order to get it in top running condition before next summer. Please give me any and all information about this particular boat, along with anything that I should look for when inspecting the boat. Thank you guys!

Firstly, on this age of boat the #1 concern is stringer rot. Do yourself a favor and search the forum for stringer rot, there's lots here. Others will disagree with me but in reality, it's only the stringers that sit under the motor that are must repair items. The boat will operate just fine with questionable stringers everywhere else.

Secondly, if there's a Ford 360 in there, it's not the original motor. It should be a 351W or a 454. If it truly is a 460 I'd walk away, lord knows what kind of bodging would have gone on if the owner just dropped an old Ford truck motor in there.

3500 could be a great deal or a total rip off depending on the condition of both the boat and trailer.

Getting back to your question, you need to tap the stringers under the motor to see if they sound solid(good) or hollow (bad). Stomp around the floor looking for soft spots, and if the floor is solid, find out if it's been replaced. If it has, ask if there are any pictures of the process.

Do a compression check on the motor or have someone who knows how to, do one for you.