Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Battery Charger/Maintainer Recommendations

I bought a 2010 Supra Sunsport 21V over the summer and am a bit confused as to what charger to get to maintain the batteries during the winter months. I'm not worried about freezing as it won't get that cold in the storage building.

Battery 1: Interstate Cranking Marine 24M-XHD, 800CCA, 1000MCA

Battery 2: Interstate Deep Cycle Marine/RV SRM-24, 550CCA, 690MCA, 140RC

I understand standard battery basics, but I'm new to boat maintenance and deep cycle batteries. I know that I want a charger that doubles as a maintainer that I can keep plugged in for weeks at a time when the boat is in storage.

What charger can both charge and maintain?
    Do I need a different charger for the different batteries or can it be swapped over or possibly daisy chained?
    Any recommendations on brands/models?

You want to look for a dual bank marine on-board multi-stage smart charger. In the 20A range is best, 15A is OK, 12A gets alittle light IMO.

The Pro Mariner Pro Sport 20 gen-3 is a solid unit at a good price. The NOCO Genius Gen-2 20 is another.
    Michael
    Mikes Liquid Audio

I think it's a a good upgrade to install an on-board charger. A smart charger. I just plug my boat in and let the system monitor it.
    I purchased an Inteli-Power Marine Battery Charger. Made by Progressive Dynamics.
    Pretty sure it's a 30A, but its been awhile since I looked at it.

I have 1 house battery and 2 stereo batteries. (AMG)

Mark

I would say.
    Remove the batteries from the boat. Keep them in your garage or where ever and top them off with a charger every 2-3 months during winter.

The smart chargers are great, but from the independent studies I have read it is just as good or better to top them off every other month.
    The smart chargers do put some wear and tear on the batteries by maintaining them. I use a CTEK smart charger to charge the batteries, but just don't leave it on.