Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default 87 Sunsport Skier...Project Feedback Wanted

Hi Folks,
    I was fortunate enough to pick up an 87 SSS this summer and I'm going to be diving into it soon. Its my first ski boat and is definitely a project boat for sure. She is a good project candidate though and I picked her up at a good price.
    The stringers are crap, motor (351W PMC) needs to be freshened up. The rest is all minor-moderate cosmetic/mech stuff.

I want to do this project right, so before I even start, I want to get some feed back from any of you that have tackled this before.  I've been scouring the forums/search engines for a few months now and have a fairly decent idea of what I'd like to get accomplished this winter and then on. I'm going to be realistic and say this is going to take me until at least the summer of '18 to get back on the water. That said, here's my projected order of operations and some questions I do have.

I'm going to start by pulling the engine and doing a basic (not high performance) complete rebuild on it. Maybe I'm wrong, but I just don't see the need to spend all the money there when I need to do a complete stringer job on it and I'd like to re-do the interior and put in a new gauge cluster as well.

I don't have any large garage access as of now, but I do have plenty of space for a block on an engine stand. I also just picked up a nice cover so the boat can sit outside for at least one more NJ winter. Its not really going to hurt anything anyway.

My hope is to have the engine completely done by late spring and I also hope to have some space procured to start work on the hull by then. If anyone has any suggestions about upgrades/changes that I should definitely make to the stock engine, then please let me know soon. I'm pulling it this weekend or next and will be ordering kits/parts shortly thereafter.