Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Water Coming in from Rudder on 1989 Supra Mariah

Hello, Newbie here. Have owned a 1989 Supra Mariah for 3 years.

I have a constant stream of water coming in from the rudder. When I look between the back seats, the rudder has what seems like a big nut similar to the one that is on the propeller shaft. I just repacked this one (prop shaft) - so I figure it is a matter of repacking the one for the rudder. But it seems impossible to get to it without removing the fuel tank.

So my questions are:

1. am I correct that I need to repack the rudder like I repack the propeller shaft?
    2. do I need to remove the fuel tank to do it?
    3. how do I remove the fuel tank? I siphoned out the fuel - released the straps and the hoses (except for the hose to fill the tank - couldn't get much movement on that one - yet) - I just couldn't really lift the tank much (at the other end) so I decided to wait on removing that hose. I am trying to lift the tank out - but maybe I should be removing the rear seats and shoving the tank forward?
    I was planning on bringing the boat to my shop where I can use some straps and a forklift and give it a nice pull.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

From what I've read there are a couple different styles rudder from this time period. Here's a very detailed thread on one of them: https://forum.supraboats.com/showthr...rudder+packing

There are lots of other threads if you search rudder packing.

1. Yes, the rudder seal will eventually wear out but it may not be the same style packing as the shaft.
    2. I've never been on a Mariah so can't answer if the tank needs to come out.
    3. To remove the tank, at least on a Saltare, remove the fill hose. Lift the opposite end of the tank until you can slide it away from the filler side of the hull above the topcap. Then the filler side will have room to clear the topcap, too. Reverse to reinstall.