Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default New Saltare Owner with Questions

Just puchased my first boat, and its a 1987 Supra Saltare with a 454. It was reupolstered and the engine was rebuilt in 2001 -- it has 310 hours on it total. The thing is in fantastic shape for such an old boat and is setup with a really nice stereo, and wakeboarding tower. Everything seems to work really well but I had some total newbie questions. I appreciate any help that anyone can give me. In no particular order:

1) What are some general maintenance things I should do? I'm assuming new plugs, and oil change, but beyond that I really have no idea. The guy I bought it from seemed to take good care of it, but I just figured there was some really simple stuff that should be done.

2) Winterizing it? I'm in MN and winter is fast approaching. What steps should I take to prepare it for a cold, cold winter?

3) Took it out today and there were a few issues raised at full throttle. Firstly it didn't seem as fast as I thought it should be with such a monster engine -- the speedos both registered 35 @ WOT running at about 4500RPMs. Secondly the engine was surging (for lack of a better word) it kept racing and slowing, racing and slowing -- if I backed off just a little bit it ran really smooth again, but there seemed to be alot of exhaust. I've never driven a boat of this vintage so I have no idea what a normal exhaust amount would be, but it was definetly noticeable where every other boat I have driven seems to have no visible exhaust at speed.

4) The wood needs a tune-up. Any recomendations on a good oil or wax that will seal it and last? The wood now is pretty grey looking.

5) The trailer -- the boat sits too far down on a steep ramp to pull it all the way up to the front roller. It wants to stick its nose under the roller and is a pain in the ass. Anyone have any tricks on how to put it on the trailer without cranking your arm off for about 10 minutes?